about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, July 13
... If I were a wealthy girl
Kat and I had an interesting discussion the other day about the types of people that we tend to be attracted to. "We" being people in general, not her and I in particular. Specifically, being attracted to people who are like our parents. Fathers, for girls. Mothers, for guys. It's true, though--people often end up with someone who's like their parent. We all know it.

And I had a theory--I wonder if we get familiar with those personality traits, and we know how to deal with them, so it makes it easier to learn to live with someone. We've dealt with our parents' personalities for our entire lives, and for better or for worse, we know how to deal with them.

Sometimes, this is a healthy thing. Sometimes, being in a relationship with someone who reminds me of my dad could be a good thing. My dad has a lot of good qualities, and even though there are aspects of his personality that drive me nuts, I know how to deal with them. If I marry someone with those traits, it makes the whole transition into married life that much easier.

Sometimes, it's a bad thing. It's how girls from abusive homes often end up as wives in abusive homes. They end up with guys like their dads, and they don't know that they should be treated better.

Anyways, that was just my speculation and random bits of wisdom. Me, the ever-sage one.

I seriously have nothing to talk about. It hasn't been all that interesting of a week--other than going out with Kat on Monday night, things have been pretty slow. Work, home. Work, home. I got my passport pictures taken this morning; now I just have to get to the US consulate, which I'll do Friday afternoon, since I'm working a split shift on Friday. Not fun, but at least it gives me a few hours off during normal business hours.

I'm so not interesting. This whole entry could have been a lot more interesting if there were certain things I felt more comfortable being completely open about on here, but that's not quite the case. I don't need rumors flying any more than they already do. Ergo, I won't be all that specific.

I'm going to watch Gilmore Girls.
infinite || abyss

posted at 9:09 p.m.