about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Tues, Jun. 17
... No lies in your blue eyes
This falls into the "I don't even want to imagine what I was thinking" category.

Okay. On days when I don't have to get up, I kind of wake up gradually. Usually, I'll wake up about 2 hours before I actually get up, and then I spend the next hour and a half or so in some stage of restless waking/sleeping/dozing. I'm not fully sleeping, but I'm definitely not awake, and any dreams I have then are usually some bizarre mix of dreams and actual thoughts. After that, I usually wake up, and then try to doze for as long as I possibly can before I actually have to get up. By then, though, I'm too awake and it doesn't work.

So. This morning I wake up...

without my shirt on.

I took it off in my sleep at some point. Why? I have no idea. What was I dreaming about? Who knows. Do I remember taking it off? Vaguely, but I don't know if it was a dream or real.

But seriously. What was I thinking?

Never mind; I don't think I want to know.

And on a completely different note... here's this week's Tuesday This or That.

1. Newspapers or magazines? Usually magazines. They're more entertaining and have more pictures. :o)

2. Books-on-tape or regular books? Regular books, by far. It's far more relaxing to sit down with a book and get a good read than it is to multitask and listen to it while you're doing something else. That's fine for TV or radio, but a book is meant to be savored.

3. Paperback or hardcover? Whichever. "Don't judge a book by its cover." Right? But paperbacks are easier to carry around.

4. Fiction or non-fiction? A little bit of both. You can't subsist on a diet of only one... there needs to be a balance.

5. Sci-Fi/Fantasy or romance novels? Romance. Definitely not a sci-fi kind of girl. Although not Harlequin romances or anything like that. Far too graphic and pointless for my liking.

6. Borrow from library or buy books (either new or used)? Both. I love the library, because I can get as many books as I want for $10 a year. But there are some that you just have to own, and I'm trying to build my library as much as I can with as many books as I can get my hands on. And when I buy, I try to find them used. It's cheaper, and if you're lucky, you can find someone else's love in them--the notes in the margins, the worn pages, an inscription in the front... all those things that give a book a personality.

7. Subscribe to magazines or buy on newsstand? Newsstand, mostly. There aren't really any that I "must have" every month (or week, as the case may be). I usually get the ones I'm most interested in, and just flip through the other ones while I'm waiting in line for a cashier.

8. Current best-sellers or classic literature? Again, both. I've made it a goal to read more "classic" literature, but I always like finding something new that's really good.

9. Read books once, or re-read favorites every so often? Re-read it. There are some that I'm happy to read once, but if I love it, I want to know the characters as well as I know myself, and I want to reread it over and over and over. With time in between, of course. But there's something really comforting about a favorite book that you've read often enough to recite.

10. Here in the U.S., we have two hot best-sellers...former First Lady Hillary Clinton's memoirs, and the new Harry Potter book (coming out June 21). If you had to read one, which one...Hillary or Harry? Why? Meh. Neither, really. I've never really gotten into the whole Harry Potter phenomenon, and I don't care much about Hillary Clinton's political ramblings. I'd rather read the biography of someone I can actually emulate. I'll pick my own book, thanks.
infinite || abyss

posted at 2:54 p.m.