about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, May 11
... I like art. You know what I mean?
I love my church. I really do. There are some days when I'm just so proud to be a part of it.

Okay. When Steve and Marilyn came to Foothills in '87, it was a struggling church. It didn't seem like it would last long, grow much, or become much of anything. When the new building was built, about 10 years ago, the only reason the bank approved the mortgage, was that "when" we had to foreclose on it, the building would make a good community center. No one honestly thought that we could do it.

Well, as of this week, we're out of debt completely, we've grown probably 400% (in attendance) since Steve and Marilyn took over, and we're out of debt in close to half the time expected.

The church has been generous over the years, there have been some big gifts that people have given, and the church has grown. Then this week, the church closed a deal selling some land to the Superstore next to us. We sold a strip of land to them for around $1 million, and that was enough to pay off the rest of the mortgage and have a bit left over to start planning for the future. They're putting together a committee to start working on ideas for how to save, invest, and plan for the money in the next few years.

It's so exciting... it's something that'll be really good for the church. There are days when I'm so proud to be a part of that family, and this is one of those days. I love my church family, and it makes me so happy that this is here. God is so good.

Oy. I need some sleep. I was at the theatre for 10 hours today loading in for Singles. That show has been really strange to me... I feel like I haven't been doing much--I'm doing hair, makeup, and light design--and it's not really stuff that I needed to be at rehearsals all along for. This week will be busy, but it's definitely different. I mean, after Joseph and Our Town, it's something much less involved, and that's an interesting feeling. Nice to be involved without having to run the show.

Anyways. I'm going to get some sleep. G'nite.

One year ago today: I'm Oy. My house is a mess. Not a pigsty, moldy, stinky, bad socks kind of mess, but just kinda cluttered, and the kitchen table needs to be wiped, and the dishes need to be done, and the bathroom needs cleaning, and things like that, and it just feels gross. I feel like a bad housekeeper, but to be honest, I just haven't had the time to do it. Whenever I've been home in the past few days, I've been sleeping. Seriously. I haven't even been on the internet, to speak of. I mean, I've checked my email and stuff, but I haven't been spending unhealthy amounts of time on here, wasting it.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:42 p.m.