about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Mon, Mar. 24
... You say you heard every word, but I watched you turn away
I have these lyrics running through my head right now. I don't know why, but they won't leave. It's not a song I've been listening to lately; it's nothing from Joseph, but it's something that I can't get out of my head.

And famous last words, "I'm not ready yet"
"I won't be gone a minute" and I won't forget
Famous last words
If tomorrow never comes, will I ever know that I was in love?


I need a song to use for a movement piece, and this might be it. I was thinking of a totally different song--Goodbye by Plankeye--but this one might work better. It'll be an interesting piece. I know that a lot of people in the class don't like it, but there's something about it that's done something to me. It's a strange journey, and I don't know how it's going to work out, but I think I like the process.

It's interesting... I was doing a journal for Tracey, and I was realizing that the Movement class really has been an inspiration for me in a lot of other ways. It's given me the spark for several other creative ideas, and it's taking me on a weird journey through my own creativity as it doesn't relate to theatre. Everything I'm getting from that class--all of the other ideas I have--aren't related to the stage at all. They're more visual arts, things that I'd love to try, and see how they turn out.

I know that other forms of art and expression are a really important part of being an artist of any sort, but mine have always tended towards music and writing, if not theatre. Those have been my muses, not so much any of the visual arts. This is really cool for me, because it's so different from what I usually do. And I find it odd that it's coming from a movement class. However, I think that when Tracey finds out about that, she'll be proud, because she's very into movement as a whole, coming from inside, not just as learning choreography and putting on some sort of steps onto myself.

Hmm. I'm excited, though. I'm not even going to touch one of the ideas until next year, but I've hopefully enlisted some help for the other idea, so maybe I'll have that done within the next couple of weeks. That would be cool.

I love being creative, even when it doesn't turn into anything worthwhile.

One year ago today: So about that Palm Sunday thing. Let me explain what happens here, okay? On Palm Sunday morning, as part of the celebration (and sort of a "teaser" for the Easter drama), the cast and choir do a 5 or 10-minute segment in the service. Usually, it consists of the crowd (of about 50 or so people) walking in, all decked out in Bible time gear, waving palm branches and shouting, "Hosanna! Praise him! It's Jesus! Blessed is he who comes in the name of the Lord!" and such phrases, with Jesus on a donkey (yes, a real donkey in church) somewhere in the middle of or at the end of the crowd. They circle the sanctuary, ending up on the platform, and then sing a song that has to do with Palm Sunday.
infinite || abyss
posted at 1:56 p.m.