about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Thurs, May 15
... It didn't even seem like it was real
I hate feeling helpless. I hate being dependent and needing someone else to look out for me and make sure things are going to be okay. I'm a grown woman; I should be able to take care of myself. I just want to be able to do it on my own--I don't want to feel like I'm still a little kid needing assistance with everything. It's really irritating.

I love what I do; I love the volunteer work that I do, and I know that my education is so important, but it's frustrating that it leaves little to no time, space, or opportunity to earn money. I feel like I'm letting myself and everyone else down.

Blah. It's just one of those days. I'm feeling sorry for myself, and I'm irritated with the way life is going. I... don't know.

I want to be content with what God's given me... I want to be able to live in the now, not worry about tomorrow, not need more than I've been given, not want to be someone else, be able to rejoice and realize how blessed I am in whatever situation I'm in.

There are days, though, when that seems impossible. There are days when I want so much more than I have, and it's so easy to get caught up in the poor-poor-pitiful-me mindset.

Bah.

One year ago today:

Sometimes I think that metaphors to describe things that need to take place in life are highly overrated. Take the concept of "letting go," for instance. In the concrete world, it's quite simple. When I let go of something, either it falls or I fall. It's immediate... You don't go through a huge process--there's a specific moment in time when my hand ceases to be in contact with whatever it is that I'm letting go of. Emotionally, though, it's not that simple. I mean, really. How do you let go of something? Yes, the concept is, in theory, all fine and dandy, but when it actually comes to doing it, it's a little different.
infinite || abyss

posted at 12:06 p.m.