about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Tues, Nov 13
... I still wear a poppy
One thing I really miss about being in school is Remembrance Day. Everyone piles into the gym, sitting on the floor, and there are some songs, a slide show, a moment of silence, the singing of O Canada, talks by some of the local veterans of WWII, and the laying of the poppies on the styrofoam cenotaph. Then, on Remembrance Day itself, when we had the day off school, there was always a service. Either at the Kirby Center, or the official town service in Strathmore, or the big one at the Jubilee in Calgary... it's one of my favorite holidays.

I've always loved the stories of war; the stories of the fighting and the Resistance... the heroes who were really just ordinary people who knew when to stand up and fight for what they believed in. I still wear a poppy, but I miss those services. I miss going to the Kirby Center, where the service was for the seniors and the only reason we went was because dad played the trumpet there. I miss hearing their stories, talking to them, finding out what they remember, where they're coming from.

The sad thing is that the people who remember the world wars are a dying breed. There's almost no one anymore who was around during World War One, and fewer and fewer who were here during World War Two. I want to hear their stories. I want to hear as many of the stories and the details as I possibly can, so I can tell my children, and so their stories won't be forgotten.

Lest we forget.


infinite || abyss

posted at 5:43 p.m.