about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Tues, Jan 22
... Caught in the throes of sexism
Inverse sexism. An interesting concept. The concept that, just because I may choose to do something that I could be pressured into doing by sexist men, I am automatically being forced by them to do it. I don't think that sentence made sense. For instance, if I decide that I want to be a stay-at-home mom, that's something that can be perceived as being forced upon me in some way by some sexist male, and that nullifies my own choice in the matter. Still not making complete sense.

I'm free to make my life choices, and just because they may not always fit the "feminist agenda" does not mean that I didn't make them of my own free will. Just because I decide to do something "old fashioned" with my life does not mean that I've been influenced by the "sexist male" segment of society. Inverse sexism. Devaluing my choices as my own choices, just because they could be perceived as sexist.

I don't really know what else to say on that whole topic... I mean, I read about it, and I totally agree with it, but I really don't have any insightful application, except for how I see it applying to my own life. But what do you think? I want to know what other people think of the idea, because to me, it's certainly an interesting, and incredibly valid, one. :o)
infinite || abyss

posted at 3:22 p.m.