about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Monday, Aug. 08, 2005
... The perfect fit
And thus, it begins. I think that Edmonton was my first official set of goodbyes. I know I'm not going to get up there again to see Lynsae and Lindsey again before I leave, so this was one of those "lasts"--but at least I knew this one was coming. I can't believe that Skylar will be 2, and walking and talking, the next time I see her.

Anyways... it was a very good day. So good to see all of them again, and good to get away for a day. It made me feel like I had a little bit of productivity (of sorts) during these days off. Which I am absolutely determined to enjoy. I'm not even going to think about packing until I'm back at work. Trust me to not spend my days off packing, hey? Ah well...

I kind of wish I was moving into my house right now, instead of doing the whole storage thing again. I've got so many ideas, and so many house-related things that I want to do, and I'm shelving them yet again. It's okay, though--by the time I actually get my own house, the decorating will be kick-butt. I'll have an excellent idea of what I want to do, and I'll actually have enough pieces that are a part of the design to tide me over and make it start to look coherent.

I realized the other day that this will be the first time in my life that I actually have to church-hunt. I'm not obligated to any particular church--or even denomination--and I can go wherever I want. Kind of freeing, kind of overwhelming, all at once. I have somewhere I want to try, but if it doesn't work, I can keep going until I find something. This is all so very bizarre and surreal. Part of me can't believe I'm actually going to New York. Part feels like I should be getting ready to move on with life in Calgary in 3 weeks. Part of me is so very badly wanting a house of my own, and everything else kind of pales in comparison to that. Part of me can't wait to live in a "real" big city. It's all so very odd and mixed up.

Anyways. I posted some pictures of Skylar over here, so if you want to check them out, they're really adorable.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:47 p.m.