about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, Nov. 10
... Should I stay or should I go
I lay down to take a nap at 6:00. I woke up about 10 minutes ago. Seriously, I don't know how I can sleep so long in the middle of the day. Or evening. Or whatever. Good thing I don't have anywhere to be tomorrow morning--I can be up writing until all hours, and then sleep in. Sometimes, I wonder about my body, though.

Last time I took a nap this late and woke up at 9, I took off to Vancouver for 2 days. Hmmm... nah. I can't spend the next 2 days driving and not writing. Besides, I toyed with the idea of heading out there for the weekend anyways, and it didn't pan out. I think that the extent of my long-weekend wanderings this weekend will consist of trying to find a new haunt to write. I need to find as many as I can--there are only so many nights you can spend at Denny's. As much as I love the place...

Steve, our old senior pastor, was at church this morning. That was a slightly surreal experience--I was a few minutes late for church, so I was walking down the hall, and it was already pretty empty. I saw someone standing at the end of the hallway, and thought it was James (one of our other pastors) because of the color of his jacket; then I realized that it looked like one of Steve's jackets. But of course it couldn't be him--he's in Kentucky. So, I sat down in church, and didn't think any more of it. Then, about 5 minutes later, Steve walked in and sat 2 people down from me. Guess I was right!

It was interesting. He didn't preach or anything; he just prayed and told us a bit of what he was up to. It was really good, though... not a hugely emotional time, or a "We all miss Steve" service; just a... "Life's moving on in all directions, and we're happy about that."

I can't believe it's already been 2 years since they left. That's so crazy. Time flies. Of course, Steve said the same thing when I commented that Rocky was celebrating it's 10th anniversary this year. He said it was weird to see some of the kids he dedicated running around and not-so-little anymore. I suppose my brother would be one of those... Steve dedicated him almost 14 years ago. Of course, my brother isn't exactly not-so-little. But you know. It's the thought that counts.

Anyways, I should stop procrastinating and get my butt in gear. I took my break when I decided to take a nap at 6:00 p.m. Coffee, here I come. I'm outta here.

One year ago today: I'm not waiting for my gallant prince on a white steed to come and sweep me away into a fairy tale world where there are no problems, because I know that's not realistic, and stories like that don't happen in real life. I'm waiting for my gallant prince to come sweeting into my life on his white steed and move in, taking on my mood swings, bills, kids, mortgage payments, good days, bad days, family squabbles, fights, disagreements, amazingly happy times, unbelievably sad times, PMS, broken dreams, unfulfilled wishes, surprise happy endings, miracles, answered prayers, leaps of faith...
infinite || abyss

posted at 9:03 p.m.