about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sat, Apr. 20
... Idle moments
It does not feel like it's almost 8 p.m. Even though I worked for 10 hours today, it still only feels like it's about 3 in the afternoon. I feel like I should lie down for a nap after work, and then find something to do. Yes, my body is definitely strange and screwed up.

I spent my hours of free time at work today stuffing envelopes with letters asking people to send me money to help me go on my trip. I love writing support letters... I put over 100 into mailboxes at church, though, and in the next day or two, I'll be sending out another 50 or so letters to family and far-away friends. Honestly, though, to get enough money for this trip is going to be a God-thing. There's no way I can earn that much money that fast to pay for it myself, and there's no way my parents can pay that much to help me out. So... basically, it's going to take a lot of help from friends and family. But with the number of people I'm writing, if everyone even gave just $10, I'd be set.

Anyways, enough money talk for right now. Needless to say, though, I'm super excited about this trip. I just keep having to remind myself that it really was given back to me, and that I really am going after all... after I thought I wasn't, and after all the disappointment.

Today was a really slow day at work. There was a conference all day and a wedding in the afternoon, so I had some work to do at the beginning, and a few chores throughout the day, but overall, I just had to sit around in case anyone went psycho and started destroying the building, and wait for everyone to get out of there so I could clean up and take down their stuff. You would think that with that kind of time to think on my hands I'd have something interesting to write abou, but no, it doesn't work that way. Unfortuntely, my brain doesn't always take advantage of those idle moments to come up with something inspirational to talk about.

I get to go for lunch with my parents tomorrow. Woo. Which means I get my birthday presents from my family. Finally. ;o) Then I'm working again. That's okay, though. I love doing security. I really do.

Anyways, this is quite possibly the most pointless entry ever written, so I'm going to end it now and save the meaninglessness of actually writing more.
infinite || abyss

posted at 7:42 p.m.