about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, Apr. 21
... Merry Christmas!
So I did what any normal person would do after I got home from work. I took a nap--at 8:00 p.m.--then once I got up and got the sleep fuzzies out of my eyes, I gathered some paper and pens and drove to Denny's, where I spent the next 2 hours drinking Cherry Coke (what? You think I go there for the food--no, it's all about the Cherry Coke!) and writing things that I never take the time to write at home, because I get too distracted too easily. I left Denny's when all the high school kids started coming in after the late movies finished in the theatre across the street. Now I'm sitting at my computer, writing an entry, and listening to the Christmas cd that Lynsae gave me for Christmas (the Christmas gift I only got it this week when I went to visit her!). Isn't that the way you spend your Saturday nights?


Some random thoughts for you to ponder. Or ignore. Whichever you prefer.

Someone changed the sign outside the Denny's that said "Kids Eat Free" to say "Eat Kids Free."

There are four pairs of shoes sitting at the end of my bed.

My waitress tonight was the same one that served a big group of us in the corner table on her first night on the job, which happened to be Good Friday night, and kept forgetting me because I was sitting right by the coatrack and I guess out of her line of sight. She's really nice, though. Her name's Alisha.

Christina Aguilera really knows how to ruin a Christmas carol. Although there's some amazing piano accompaniment behind her. Incredible!

I was working a wedding today, and Reta (the wedding coordinator for the church, who's in her late 50's or early 60's) and I were talking about music. Her favorite group is "Mary Mary," and she doesn't like anything too slow. The louder and faster, the more she likes it.


I listen to Christmas recordings by different artists, and I wonder what it really means to them. I mean, there's pure Christian truth being sung by artists who aren't necessarily Christians. Do they see them as just some nice songs, talking about a nice tradition, or does it become something real, even if just for that moment? I wonder. I know that for me, those songs hold so much rich meaning. So many memories of Christmases past, memories of revelations and the times that God revealed Himself to me, truth presented in a song, in a story so simple that a three-year-old can remember the words. What does it mean to anyone else?

But I do love about Christmas music. Absolutely adore it. And one of my favorite things about it is the fact that there's so much more choral, big band, jazz, and those types of music in it. You just don't see those in typical music by most artists. But for Christmas, you do.

Anyways, it's bedtime for me, so goodnight. And Merry Christmas.
infinite || abyss

posted at 12:27 a.m.