about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Thurs, Jun. 24
... Would do you good
We leave for Paris in about 3 hours.

It�s a holiday here, so a lot of stuff is closed. We didn�t realize that before, otherwise, it might have altered our plans a little. That�s okay, though--they get altered just fine without our help! For one thing, we have less time here anyways, because we're taking a 5:20 train instead of a 9:05 train, so we have fewer hours to play with.

Anyways.

I was thinking about my summers the other day... the most memorable pieces have been the solitude and rest. Two years ago, before I left on Testament, I had a week where I wasn�t working, and I was just getting ready to go. In rehearsal during the afternoons, but I had my late afternoons and evenings free, and I was just spending time by myself and with friends, relaxing.

Last summer, I had a few weeks with the house to myself, and then, when Laurel and I were vanning, I had my Friday nights and Saturdays to myself. Often, I wouldn�t even go see anyone; I�d just stay at home, watching movies, doing chores, reading, getting caught up on my rest... things like that.

Those were some of the most precious days, even amidst the excitement and new experiences that I had, and I wonder if I�ll get those gifts this summer.

They didn�t replace the big experiences, but they made them that much better, and made me appreciate them that much more.

One year ago today: It was funny though... Laurel and I always joke about being married to each other, and somehow, tonight turned into our "wedding." First of all, as part of the ceremonial commissioning, we both said, "I do." Then, we went off to a table on the platform, and signed our contracts, but it seemed strangely like signing a register. Then, after the service, they had a little reception thing, with cookies and food and stuff, and there was a cake there. So, we had our pictures taken with the cake, and then we were joking around about cutting it, and decided to try to cut it like a wedding cake (both of our hands on the knife).
infinite || abyss

posted at 2:10 p.m.