about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Thurs, Aug. 12
... Find some comfort there
So, I don't have to share a vehicle until Monday, because my sister has an eye infection and is in quarantine until then. Very nice for me. It makes my life that much more convenient.

Although (am I allowed to say it?), I'll miss needing a ride home.

However, I should enjoy it while I can, because all too soon, I won't have a vehicle until I've squirreled away a few more paychecks. Then, it'll be back to transit (yleck) and bumming rides.

The thing I'm most worried about is getting to the gym. See, before the transit system expanded, just about every bus in this area of the city (including all the ones I use to get to work) stopped right in front of the mall that my gym is in. Now, only about 2 of them do, neither of them being the buses that I need. So, that means that I'll have to take a different bus to get the the gym, and I just don't know how much confidence I have in my own ability to stay motivated when it becomes that inconvenient.

Bah to not having a car.

Anyways... That's not for a while yet, so I can't worry about it now.

I have so little to do today... I worked from 11:30 to 2:30, but I dropped Carl off at 8:30, and have to pick him up at 7. I did everything I needed to do for the day before I went to work, so now I'm just killing time. I stayed at work eating lunch and so on for at least an extra hour after my shift, and now I'm hanging around Market Mall, checking out the expansion with all the new stores that opened yesterday.

But I think I'm going to try and track Laurel down and give her a birthday present, so that'll give me something to do for a few minutes... :o)

One year ago today: As much as I vehemently dislike this town, I do like our kids. We only have 4 this week, and they're really great. It's a really interesting group dynamic--we have a 13-year-old boy, and 10-, 7-, and 6-year-old girls. Normally, 13-year-old boys aren't that enthusiastic about VBS, and are sometimes troublemakers, but Alex is a really good kid. He looks out for the little girls, and he makes sure they're included in the games and stuff; he's got a really fun sense of humor, and he's a good sport when Laurel and I tease him. If only he were 10 years older... But then he probably wouldn't be so cool. Isn't that always the way it goes?
infinite || abyss

posted at 4:21 p.m.