about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, May 30
... Smiles and asks one teaspoon or two
Some thoughts:

I love the fact that it's 10:00 and still just "dusk" out. I love the hot weather, and would love to live somewhere warmer, but the thing about being further south is that there's not as much variation in the length of days. Yeah, winter can be brutal, and winter days are short, but I love this time of year, when it's so light for so long.

We have a great neighbor. I came home today to find that our lawn has been mowed. He shovels our sidewalks sometimes in the winter, too. Granted, we don't have that big of a lawn, and there's only the front (we live in the front of a fourplex, so we only have a quarter of a yard). Anyways. Our grass was mowed today. Nice.

So. I haven't done it for the past few weeks, but here's the Friday Five.

1. What do you most want to be remembered for? Being a woman of faith who lives for and loves God the best she can, and who has left a solid legacy of faith for the people around her.

2. What quotation best fits your outlook on life? "He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose." ~Jim Eliot; "There is no heroic poem in the world but is at bottom a biography, the life of a man; also it may be said, there is no life of a man, faithfully recorded, but is a heroic poem of its sort, rhymed or unrhymed." ~Thomas Carlyle

3. What single achievement are you most proud of in the past year? Moving past the last year of my life and really loving where I'm at. It's been a tough year, but it's been a better year than the one before. I've learned to handle things better, and I'm feeling more motivated and wanting to live.

4. What about the past ten years? Becoming who I am. Ten years ago, I was 11 years old, and so much of who I've become has happened in the past 10 years. My childhood formed part of me, of course, but a lot of all of me has formed through junior high, high school, and college, and the experiences and relationships that I've had through those.

5. If you were asked to give a child a single piece of advice to guide them through life, what would you say? Live to the fullest. Love the life that's given to you, but don't be satisfied with mediocrity. Seek God above all else, and make your faith your own, not borrowed from someone else. Follow your dreams. Follow truth--real truth, not relative truth, and stop at nothing until you find it. That's more than one piece, but it all fits together.

One year ago today: This has honestly been one of the best weeks I've had all year. After the semester I had, and the weeks that were so much crap that it almost wasn't worth getting up in the morning, this is such an amazing blessing. I've been rehearsing in the morning, and then just hanging out in the afternoons and evenings. Lying in the sun, writing, reading, taking a nap, walking around on 17th, meeting people, getting last-minute stuff for the trip, people-watching... it's been amazing. So peaceful; so calm. Not just mentally and physically, but spiritually, too. I haven't felt this peaceful and rested--in every way--in ages.
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:14 p.m.