about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Mon, May 26
... His truth is marching on
So. Ballet started tonight... It's going to be a good class. A good workout, I think. Jazz starts tomorrow.

This is cool. Dance has been something I've wanted to do since I was really little, and since I could never do it then, I may as well do it now. Nothing like taking advantage of an opportunity when you have the chance. I'm really excited about this whole thing.

Hmm. Memorial Day weekend for all you Americans out there? It seems strange to me that this is your "beginning of summer long weekend." See, we have Remembrance Day, which is basically Memorial Day and Veterans' Day all wrapped into one, and it's on November 11. It was originally called Armistice Day (the day that WWI ended, in 1918), and by WWII, it was renamed Remembrance Day. Anyways, it just seems strange that it's in the summer. It seems like a more solemn holiday that's more fitting for November than May. It doesn't feel like the kind of holiday that should kick off the summer.

I guess it's just a question of what we grew up with and are used to, though. What I'm used to seems normal and right to me--what everyone else is used to seems right to them.

Our "beginning of summer holiday weekend" is Victoria Day--which was last weekend--and is (what else?) Queen Victoria's birthday. I guess it just seems more appropriate for the beginning of summer. For one thing, it's a birthday, not a remembrance of people who have died. For another thing, Queen Victoria is so far removed from the here and now that it's not as big a deal. I mean, I can remember having a unit on Queen Victoria and the monarchy once or twice, but Remembrance Day was always a big deal in school. It was something that was always treated with utmost respect.

I'm not saying that Memorial Day isn't--I've never been in the American school system or anything, so I don't know how it's dealt with in that regard--but it just seems funny to me. Like I said, it just seems like the day should be cold, blah, bare, and kind of dreary. It's a bittersweet day--thankful, but sad; a memorial to the people who sacrificed themselves for freedom and their country.

Anyways, enough of my rambling about Canadian/American cultural differences. I'm going to go do something else now

One year ago today: I get encouraged when I hang out with him. Not only because he can encourage me with what God's saying through him, or what God's doing, or something like that, but I just watch his life, and I get hopeful that maybe there's a guy like that out there for me. Norm really loves his family, and he's one of the most sincere people I know when it comes to putting God first, family second, everyone else third. I know he struggles with it, but I know he tries, and he strives to live that kind of life. He really is a godly man, and if my husband is like him, I will be a blessed woman.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:41 p.m.