about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Tues, Mar. 22
... Though it's not easy to tell you goodbye

"Day off" number two actually ended up being a 4-hour shift, and then the rest of the day off. Still, not bad. Diaryland isn't letting me add an entry right now, so I'm going to attempt to write it elsewhere, and then hopefully I can add it before it's time for me to leave. Leave where, you ask? Kat's house. That's where. We spent the afternoon (after I got off work, that is) running errands. Again with that grown-up friendship. I like it, you know? I like it a lot.

Anyways. I really appreciate the fact that my life isn't dramatic right now. There's a simplicity about it that seems mature and peaceful, and I love that. I love that I'm content with my life. Still striving, yes, and still moving forward, but content at the same time. It's a paradox, but it's a good one.

That, and the fact that everything that makes it easier to be patient also makes it more difficult to be patient. And, as Becky and I discussed today, that contradiction and struggle is a good thing. If it was too easy to be patient, and there was nothing pushing me forward, I could become too much like someone else I know (*ahem* first string *ahem*) and never go anywhere. If it just became too hard to be patient, and I never saw the reward of what I was waiting for, I would just move on and walk away from all this. So the struggle and the balance of waiting and longing is a good thing. As long as this limbo doesn't keep going forever, that is. That would just be bad, and then I just might have to settle for second string.

But that's all speculation and beside the point right now. Right now, life just hums along, and I appreciate that a lot.

I would, however, also appreciate it if diaryland would let me update. I would like to vacate Kat's basement soon--not because I don't love her, but because she's got family coming over for dinner, and I would hate to intrude on their family occasion! There are still a few things I need to fix on here since the server was down, but I don't have time right now... maybe in a day or two? Soon, I hope.

And I'll have the new computer soon--end of this week or early next week, I think.

One year ago today: This week, more than any other, I live showcase. I have 3 rehearsals tomorrow, plus burning my preshow cd's, and then 3 more rehearsals on Wednesday, plus hanging and setting all the lights, and then Thursday is dress! Oh my goodness.


infinite || abyss
posted at 5:55 p.m.