about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, May 6
... Girl next door
Tonight, I was driving home from work at 11:30, listening to CBC Radio 2 (I'm becoming more and more fond of the classical station), which has a jazz show on at night. First, it reminded me of the jazz bar that Esther and I went to in Nice.

Secondly, I realized that I haven't touched a piano since December, and that makes me very sad. It almost makes me wish that I was taking lessons again, just so that I would have that excuse to play. Not that I have time to practice for 2 hours a day, but something better than five months without playing at all. I have to be able to strike a happy medium somewhere in there.

When I have my own house, one of the first things I'm buying is a piano. There's absolutely no way I want to move one as many times as I seem to move, but there's absolutely no way I'll settle for a keyboard, so it seems that I am at an impasse with myself. Best solution? Buy a house, then put the piano in it.

Last year, so many of my little extras included playing... it's nice to be working on something, just so that I can actually be forced to take the time to play, and practice, and work on something. It would be nice to work up some of my more difficult classical stuff again--if I had the time, to work on some of the grade 10 pieces that I've got, the ones I never studied, just for the discipline.

Funny. The things I complained most about when I actually had to do them are the very things I miss most, now that I have some choice in the matter. Maybe "Mom really does know best"?
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:48 p.m.