about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, Sept 9
... You will not dye, pierce, cut, tattoo, or otherwise touch them in any way!
Yay for visiting with Lyns and Becca yesterday. It was the strangest, most emotional experience to be hanging out in dorms yesterday afternoon... It was great, and so right, but at the same time, things were so wrong about it! We had supper at Becca's, and it was so great to hang out in her room with her, Paul, Lyns, and Jesse... then Lyns and I went over to our old house, met the girls who live there now, and got to sit in our old room for a few minutes. It's so strange that they've decorated it so differently and it's not our room anymore. It was the most natural thing in the world, though, to go across the hall and straight into 203, not even thinking that it's not my house anymore! I almost started crying, sitting in our old room, at our old desks, talking, just like normal. Although the sad/weird thing is that it's not normal anymore. I went into the lounge, too, which was strange. They don't even have the TV hooked up yet! Our group last year was so media-junkie... but I walked in, expecting to see Jade, Trevor, Liesel, Andrew, Jesse, Hilde, Tamara... everyone in there watching something, and there were all these new people who gave me strange looks and had no clue whatsoever who I was!

The whole day was the most "normal" (old-time normal) that I've had with Lyns since we moved. Pretty much every time I've seen her has been in Edmonton, or at my new place, not in our old house. It was so strange to go shopping, hang out in 203, the lounge, and Becca's house, go to Wendy's, hang out downtown... all the things we used to do when we lived together that are now just memories that we occasionally try to relive.

It's not that I don't love living with Kathy, because I do, so much. I'm sooooo incredibly grateful that God gave her to me and that I get to live with her, but it's different, and this weekend was a real weekend of old memories.
infinite || abyss

posted at 3:56 p.m.