about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, Mar. 24
... Your breath on my face
Ack! Two days! I'm trying not to over-rehearse, but there are a few things I really need to polish. Monologues, most specifically. Those are so easy to put to the side, because I don't have to work with anyone to get them done, so I don't have the constraints and the pressure of someone else's time table forcing me to memorize. The nice thing with these, though, is that I can work them by myself, and I don't really need a lot of rehearsal time.

I woke up this morning well before my alarm with dance steps and lines running through my head. Not, I started thinking about them when I woke up, but as I was waking up, I was running Joyful Joyful in my head. I can only imagine what my dreams were. Maybe it's a good thing I can't remember all of them. Although I'm pretty impressed that I've only had one nightmare about my showcase. One really random dream, where my showcase turned into a wedding, but other than that, just the one nightmare.

I just can't believe that six months of work is coming down to the next two days! Breathe... breathe... breathe.

Actually, I'm not really panicking. There's still a lot to do, but it's mostly putting the pieces together. Working the cues, getting the tech going, that kind of thing. It's not so much actually getting things ready to go. The pieces are in place; it just has to happen now. I had my panic attack a few weeks ago, when I had no clue how it was all going to come together in time. I guess the last-minute panic just came a few weeks early.

Although I just had about 5 things run through my mind that I should be doing right now, instead of sitting here. Copying programs, getting my eyebrows waxed, trying to get hold of Val to pick up the curtain, ironing costumes, going to the gym... but I'm being productive here, too.

I have to stop thinking, or I'm going to start panicking again. I'm going to eat lunch.

The funny thing about my "One year ago today" entry is that the projects I was talking about are in the process of being completed this week. One was finished last year, when I thought it would be. The other one, I planned to coincide with my showcase, so it's being finished this week. That's kind of funny that it's been a year.

One year ago today: I know that other forms of art and expression are a really important part of being an artist of any sort, but mine have always tended towards music and writing, if not theatre. Those have been my muses, not so much any of the visual arts. This is really cool for me, because it's so different from what I usually do. And I find it odd that it's coming from a movement class. However, I think that when Tracey finds out about that, she'll be proud, because she's very into movement as a whole, coming from inside, not just as learning choreography and putting on some sort of steps onto myself.
infinite || abyss

posted at 12:24 p.m.