about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, Jan. 29
... I'll turn right back around
Our Acting and Scene Study class has such an odd group dynamic. It's a second-year class, but most of the class are first-years, due to the fact that the course is only offered every other year. Besides them, there's Val, who is in theatre ministry and runs FireExit Theatre, a local Christian theatre company; then there are Dave, Janna, and I, who are all third-year students; and then, like most classes, Sharla is a TA, so she sits in on the class.

Val knows Cindy quite well, and Dave, Janna, and I have all been taking classes from her for three years, so we also know her really well. The first years have had a few months with her, and some of them aren't even theatre majors, so they haven't had the same sort of experience with Cindy as we have.

In class discussions, there are a lot of references to things that have happened before, examples that Cindy uses to explain things. Some of them directly have to do with us, and we remember the events; some of them are stories that we've heard many times, and so when she starts to tell it, we start laughing before she gets to anything funny.

I wonder how the first-years feel about that... I mean, it's a very different dynamic than when I took the class the first time, because then, we were all in our second year, and we were all the same class--it was all theatre majors (whereas this class is about 1/2 and 1/2). I wonder if they feel left out, or excited to get to know Cindy better, or scared by the whole process, or what?

It's just a very weird dynamic. A strange mix of people, levels, interests, and personalities. We have some interesting discussions, and it's nice to have some different viewpoints than the six that we hear in our third-year classes all the time. It's just funny.

Anyways, Laurel is at my house, and I'm being a bad hostess because I'm ignoring her. :o)

One year ago today: I want a Frosty. Or a slurpee. I have a serious craving for something along those lines. And I have to finish reading and memorizing... and getting ready for drama on Thursday. One of these days, I need to go buy makeup for my lovely cast members. Woo! That'll be fun times... teaching those boys, especially, how to put on a face. It'll be different than normal makeup for the girls, but not so bad. For the guys, though, it'll be incredibly fun times. Hehehe... :o) (insert evil diabolical laughter from the director)
infinite || abyss

posted at 2:55 p.m.