about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, Feb 8
... An Alida Moment
My most embarrassing moment, hey?

Well, that one would have had to have been on Father's Day, 2000. Sunday morning. I was in church, and the pastor was talking about dads, and about their impact on our lives, and such things. They gave a time during the service to go hug your dad, or find someone else who had been like a father to you and thank him. So that's all fine and dandy, and everyone starts hugging their dads, walking around the room, and so on.

My dad just happened to be playing in the worship team that morning, so at that time, he was up on the platform with the rest of the band. I decided, why not go up on the platform to give my dad a hug? So, off I go, up the stairs, and onto the platform. Now, the band was up on risers that stood about a foot off the stage, and just as I stepped onto the riser, my high heeled shoe caught on the edge, and down I went, face first, with my back to the congregation.

On my way down, I missed (by about 1/2 an inch) gouging my forehead on a music stand, I hit my chest right below my shoulder blade on a guitar amp (which then made that lovely, loud twanging noise to further draw attention to me), and smashed my knee into the edge of the riser, on which I'd tripped.

Now, of course not everyone saw this, thank goodness, because their attention had been diverted by their own dads, but the noise and the banging drew enough attention without any help.

I lay there for a few minutes on my stomach, my legs sprawled out ever so gracefully, shaking, partly from shock, and partly because I was laughing. By this point, my dad and a few other members of the worship team were standing over me, wondering if I was okay, and wondering if I was actually seriously hurt and couldn't get up. Finally I stood up, gave my dad a hug, and walked rather sheepishly back down to my seat, where my friends were all waiting to "congratulate" me on my graceful fall.

The bruise on my leg, by the end of the day, looked like someone had implanted a baseball under my skin, and stayed huge and ugly for a week! There's a picture in my grade 12 yearbook of me, wearing a skirt, the day after this incident, with the bruise in full display, even though I was trying to cover it up. The bruise on my chest didn't hurt at first, but after a day or so, began hurting so badly that I could hardly move my arm and it hurt to breathe. Within a few days, it looked like someone had colored my skin yellow with a highlighter.

And that, my friends, is what we call "An Alida Moment."
infinite || abyss

posted at 8:42 p.m.