about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Tues, Dec 25
... And to all a good night
Merry Christmas!

So, it was interesting.... I got a couple of weird looks, some almost reluctant thank-you's, and some enthusiastic thank-you's. It was fun, though. I think I'm going to do it again next year...

It was interesting having dinner with Tammy and some of her side of the family. I haven't spent any time with her since she left Doug and the kids almost 2 years ago, so it was weird to be invited to Christmas dinner with her family--that Doug was hosting!--this year. It wasn't as bad as I thought it might be, though. Ah yes, the family ties... I basically went to "rescue" Doug should he need it, not because of any particular loyalty to Tammy or her family. What a mess that situation is turning out to be.

But anyways, enough of that depressing talk for now. This is Christmas.

I suppose I should put the obligitory list of what I got... but I don't really want to. It's not that big a deal. I mean, I like what I got, and I'm happy that I got a bunch of the stuff on my list, but that's not the biggest thing.

You know, I love Christmas so much, but I think I love the buildup more than the actual day. It's not that I build myself up for something and then get disappointed when it's not what I expected, because that's not what happens at all... it's more like I expect more of the pre-Christmas rush than of Christmas itself. I really don't think it matters, as long as I don't lose focus of the real meaning in all the rush and bustle. Christmas Day itself is, for me, more of a relaxed day, more of the end product, enjoying the finished results.

Call me crazy, but I really do love the busy, jam-packed shopping malls, the Santas that appear everywhere, the nativity scenes, the snow in windows, the gift ideas, shopping for everyone else, searching high and low for that "perfect" gift, writing and sending Christmas cards, Advent candles in church, singing Christmas carols, all the choir concerts, Christmas parties, dinners... all of it. I love the entire month of December, and Christmas Day just kind of caps it all off in a subtle, smaller way. I like that.

Anyways, Merry Christmas. Enjoy the last few moments, sitting in an easy chair beside the Christmas tree with a plate of Christmas cookies beside you, reading that new book you got, enjoying the peace and quiet after a hectic, busy day. I hope you got what you really wanted, whatever that was. :o)
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:46 p.m.