about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, Apr. 13
... If you asked me to
I can't write without wondering... without speculating all the what-ifs and whethers. I can't sit down with my words without thinking about it and feeling like I should be trying to work it all out, trying to weigh the pros and cons.

Which is really weird, because it's been a week, and I'm not thinking about it as much anymore, and I've written about plenty of other things in the past 7 days.

Maybe it's because the more time that passes, the more I know that a decision is imminent, and the more clearly I'm thinking.

Craig and Tammi are leaving Foothills... I'm not sure what to think of that. I was more than a little shocked to find out--it's a surprise to everyone, I think. I just keep remembering what it was like for us when Norm and Leona left, and I pray it's not that tough on these kids. We had a really rough year with that...

Hard to believe it's already been 3 years, though. Craig and Tammi have been here for all of my sister's high school years. That's just weird.

I'm praying that they find someone who can build on Craig's gifts, though. That's what ended up happening before--Craig built on the foundation that Norm had built, and even though it felt like the end of the world when Norm left, it turned into a good thing. It took us a while to appreciate and accept it, but it's been a good thing for the youth group. I hope it's a similar situation. Craig has amazing gifts, but I hope they find someone who can take the foundation that he's laid and build on it to take his place. Transition is a tough part of ministry, but it's so important, and can be a good thing, if we let it be.

One year ago today: Unfortunately, the church is too often the place that becomes the most judgmental and condemning, instead of the most forgiving. Especially to the people who "should know better," who have been taught their entire lives.
infinite || abyss

posted at 2:38 p.m.