about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Thurs, Jul. 24
... One thing we are sure about
Well. Another week almost over. This summer is cut into such odd time intervals. I mean, not that a week is an odd period of time, but it is when you seem to live the same week over and over and over.

I feel like I'm sitting in some sort of a ... I don't know. Not a rut, really, but I don't feel like I'm growing, in a lot of ways. In some ways, I don't feel like there's anywhere for inspiration, but I know that I'm just not looking for it as hard as I should be. There are little things every day that I can see God's presence in; little things that I can write about and learn from. Maybe I'm just not open enough to it.

It makes work "easy," because we're doing the same thing, but there's enough variation, because every town is different, and every group of kids is different. Things may be similar, but they're not exactly the same, and that's good. I wouldn't want 8 weeks of a carbon copy of the first one.

Still. I don't know. This sounds way more whiny than I feel. It sounds like I'm much more discontented than I really am. And while, no, I don't like Bashaw, it hasn't been that horrible of a week. We've had fun field trips, great kids, some interesting adventures, lots of pool... and fun stuff like that. It's not all bad. But it just feels kind of blah. It doesn't feel as real as it should.

Anyways... Laurel's finished and waiting for me, so I should really get going.

Oh! Exciting! I just bought another 2 Madeleine L'Engle books on ebay--two of the "Crosswicks Journals." Yay for cheap used books. *sigh* No wonder Laurel makes fun of me so much.

One year ago today: A week ago today, I was in London with Sharla and Janel, on an adventure trying to find our way to the Globe Theatre. Today, I'm sitting at my computer, still in my pyjamas, being lazy until I have to get ready for my appointment with Gwen in 2 hours. It doesn't feel like it was only a week ago; it feels like it was all a big dream, and now I've woken up in my normal life again. But this dream was something life-changing and intense; it wasn't just a little dream that you can't remember the details of.
infinite || abyss

posted at 2:53 p.m.