about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, Nov. 21
... As our lives change, come whatever
So. There's this little thing called graduation.

I wasn't going to be able to do it until next year, because I have one course that's not offered this year, and it's a requirement.

But last week, the Academic Dean approached me and asked if I was on track for grad this year. When he heard about the class, he said he'd do what he could to fix things, so that I could graduate this year, because it would be a shame for one class to make it not happen.

So... I talked to him yesterday, and he's worked it out so that I can take that class as a directed study unit, and do it independently, and graduate next semester!

I don't have to come back next year. I'll have my degree in 6 months.

I'm so excited.

And it's just starting to sink in, and I have the feeling that the next 6 months will be an incredibly busy (lots of loose ends to tie up) and emotional (Laurel, Chelsea, Janna, Dave, and I have been together for the past 4 years, and we've gone through a lot together) time.

But still. It's incredible. I'm still in slight shock, because I'd resigned myself to being here for another year, but only having to come for the one class.

Yay God!

So this opens up some doors. I don't know which ones will close before next fall; I don't know which other ones will open, but there are doors that weren't open 2 weeks ago. Oh my goodness. I still can't believe it. And I have to go register for my classes for next semester.

My last semester at Rocky. What a weird concept.

And, since I want a longer entry, and the questions are cool this week, here's the Friday Five.

1. List five things you'd like to accomplish by the end of the year. Finish all my reviews that I'll need for graduation, hand in the rest of this semester's papers on time, get as far on my NaNovel as I possibly can before Nov. 30, pay off my cell phone bill, and send all my Christmas cards on time.

2. List five people you've lost contact with that you'd like to hear from again. Cara, Jenny, Daryl, David, and Ro.

3. List five things you'd like to learn how to do. Dance (a lot better than I do now), speak Spanish, cook a gourmet meal, drive in Europe (on the wrong side of the road), and paint.

4. List five things you'd do if you won the lottery (no limit). Build a theatre, buy a nice house, pay off my friends' student loans and debts, give my parents a good chunk of change, and travel to many places with many people.

5. List five things you do that help you relax. Read a book, watch a movie I've seen often enough that I can quote it, take a long, hot shower, drive around aimlessly, and play the piano.

One year ago today: I'm in a strange mood. I'm excited and eager for whatever's coming, but at the same time, I'm melancholic and really sometimes wondering about myself. I don't know what I'm supposed to be feeling, and how I'm supposed to view the people and relationships in my life, so I keep vascillating back and forth between nearly every imaginable emotion, and I don't know which one to pick. I can't seem to find a happy medium; instead, I go from one extreme to another.
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:36 a.m.