about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, Apr. 27
... In more than just one moment
Random thoughts and things going on today. I don't have the mental capacity to link them all into coherent paragraphs.

It's so strange to realize that it's been two years since I moved out of dorms. This is that weekend for this year--everyone's packing up, cleaning up, and moving out, and it's been so long since I have.

I'm glad I'm not moving right now, though. For one thing, the weather is horrendous today, and I didn't envy the guys moving all their stuff into our basement at all. For another thing, I don't like packing, and it's only been four months since I moved. Besides, moving out of dorms was such a weird experience. There were so many people I knew I wouldn't see again, or have the same sort of relationship with that I'd had before. It was a weird weekend.

Grad, Laura's surprise party, moving, The Waiting Room, Jade, saying goodbye... it was a crazy few days.

It's so strange to think how long ago that was, and how much those eight months affected me. And at the same time, it's interesting to see how my close relationships have changed since then. Shan, Lynsae, Jen, Jade, Corinne, Becca, Dave, Trevor... all of them were such an influential part of the time I spent living in dorms.

Yeah... time flies. When you're having fun, and when you're not. And you look back all too quickly and realize that it's been two years and life has changed so much for everyone since then. We're all at such different points, but we had something in common that year, and something that drew us together closer than most others.

And with that, I'm going back to the last 10 minutes of We Were Soldiers.
infinite || abyss

posted at 1:13 a.m.