about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, Jun. 11
... And all the roads
The relationships I had with some of my high school teachers are really interesting. There were a few--particularly the ones that I worked on projects with outside of class--that I got quite close to, and a few that I still stay in touch with, even three years later.

Probably the teacher that I was closest to was my French teacher, Mrs. Hune. The class was one of those that was pretty small--there were only about 10 of us in my grade 12 French class--and there was only one guy. Honestly, if we'd actually worked in that class, we either would have finished the semester's work by March, or we would have done three times the work.

Instead of working (well, not always instead of--we did have to do some work), though, we talked. A lot. About boys, about grad, about other classes, about college and our plans after high school, about our weekend plans... anything. Every once in a while, Mrs. Hune would try to get us to talk in French, but soon, we would be back to English. And, not only did we talk to each other, we talked to her, and she knew as much of the gossip about our lives as we did about each other's.

I've kept in touch with her since then--I send her a Christmas card every year, and whenever I'm at the high school, I try to stop in and say hi and talk to her for a few minutes about what's going in my life.

There were two other teachers that had that kind of impact on me--Ms. Harris (the student council advisor) and Miss Hawk (my grade 12 English teacher). I haven't kept in touch with them as much as I have with Mrs. Hune, but I still send Christmas cards and say hi, and try to keep up with what's going on.

Teacher's pet? I don't think so... I just realized that they could have the kind of impact on my life that I would be blessed to have. These three women had a lot to offer, and I was really blessed to have them in my life for those few years.

It makes me wonder about my professors, too. I wonder what kind of relationship I'll have with them when I graduate. A closer one than with my high school teachers? None at all?

Who knows... I guess I'll find out in a year or two.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:58 p.m.