about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Mon, Mar. 17
... The tremolo of birds
Spring is finally in the air, and I hope it feels the need to stay this time. It's one of those blue-skied, sunny, warm days. It's just about warm enough to go without a jacket, and since it's "just about," I go without anyways, because it's almost warm enough. I'm tired of a big, bulky winter jacket.

The snow is melting (finally!), and the -25 degree weather we had a week ago is becoming a distant memory. Although, living in southern Alberta, it can't become too distant a memory, because no one knows when it'll choose to rear its ugly head again.

For now, though, it's warm and sunny. The temperature is well above zero, and this reminds us that spring is on its way, the semester's almost over, and another school year will soon be finished. There's a touch of spring fever in the air, and a promise of something new. Not just the weather, but spring holds the anticipation of everything fresh and exciting.

Maybe, just maybe, everything will change. Maybe, just maybe, the warm breeze that breathes new life into the trees will touch me and things will be different than they were in winter. Maybe the cold, frozen, icy landscape will melt and what was once unwelcoming and barren will be covered with wildflowers.

Spring's finally in the air, after a long winter.

By the way, I had to sign up for a new guestbook, since I lost the pssword to my old one, and I the email address that it was sent to is long out of service (and I wanted to customize it to match the diary). So... that means that there's a very, very lonely and empty guestbook waiting for people to love it and give it some fulfillment in life. Wouldn't you like to be the one to make it very happy? I know you would... so that means you should go sign it now.

One year ago today: Some days, I feel like such an old lady. I feel like I've lived a lifetime already and seen more than my share, and I'm just old and tired of the world. I get so sick of people my parents' age saying, "You're so young... you still have your entire life ahead of you... you'll look back on this as the time of your life..." Yes. I know I'm young. I don't need to have it rubbed in. Right now, the prospects of having my entire life ahead of me and this being the best time of my life are grim ones, to say the least. I do not need to be reminded of this on a constant basis. Just let me live my life, okay?
infinite || abyss

posted at 2:24 p.m.