about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sat, Jan. 10
... Wait, I already am
So that funny little thing they call women's intuition? Does anyone actually believe in it? My guy roommates seem to, and I don't know... there are cases where I'm beginning to think that maybe it's not such an old wives' tale after all.

It's weird, but there are things that sometimes, I just know. I couldn't base decisions on the feeling; it's not like being psychic or anything like that. It's not that I know all the details of how a situation will work out, but there have been many times when I've had a strong feeling about a situation. I can look back and say, "I knew that was going to happen." And while I can't say how I knew, and I would never presume to base any actions on what I "know," there's a part of me that just has a feeling, and it sometimes is right.

Call it "women's intuition," call it a lucky guess, call it instinct. Whatever you call it, I've had that feeling. The one that just happens to be right, even though I wouldn't count on it.

The funny thing is, the things I know often happen to be regarding guys in my life. Not necessarily a boyfriend, but a guy that I'm close to. Little things. They'll tell me about a dilemma or a problem, or even just a piece of information, and I'll just have a feeling about how it'll turn out. For the past three girls that Brian's dated or been interested in, I've known whether it would be serious or not the first time he told me. No indications on his part; I've just known. And there have been at least 2 other instances with two different people (recently) where I've had an idea of how things would turn out.

Sometimes, it's about myself. I know things that I have no logical reason to know, but I just do.

The funny thing is, it's almost never another girl. I just don't get the same feeling or intuition. Maybe our women's intuition cancels each other out, so that's why I don't know. I dunno. It's just weird.

It's one of those things--I hate to say, "I knew that's how it would end" when things finally play out. It sounds like I'm just trying to sound like I know what's going to happen. I'm not pretending, but I'm not always right. There are just times when I know, and sometimes I tell someone when I first get the feeling, just so I know I'm not crazy.

Anyone else? Women's intuition? Men's intuition? No idea? It's just one of those things, I guess...
infinite || abyss

posted at 8:40 p.m.