about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, Apr. 6
... My amazing colored coat
Well. That's over and done with now. I can't believe Joseph is finished... it was the show that would never end, and it's over. I'll have somewhat of a life back, which is an odd thought. I won't be at the theatre every day, I won't be hanging out with Janna and Jen for more hours than is probably healthy, and I won't be seeing random body parts of far more boys than I ever dreamed I would.

Against all odds, though, it went amazingly well. Five sold-out shows, five standing ovations. Everything I've heard about it has been positive, and that's a huge encouragement. It was a tough road, but I'm honestly glad that I was a part of the show. I learned a lot (Janna and I had an interesting conversation about that last night), I put a lot of work into it, and I'm proud of myself and the rest of the team. I know that, as frustrating as it was sometimes, I did the best I could, and I know that it paid off. I'm proud to say that no matter how anyone else did, I did my part.

But seriously. I thought Our Town was bad for body parts being shown off, but it had nothing on this show. For real. I saw more boys in their underwear than I ever thought I would. There were more inside jokes and comments about hotness factor, bums, homosexuality, nipples, chest hair, the aforementioned underwear, removing people's clothing, the people that all of these pertained to, and so much more than could possibly be healthy. Somewhat alarming, to be sure, but ever so funny. And conducive to ever so much bonding with Janna and Jen, mostly.

Let's see. How much detail should I go into, and how much will scare people away from me forever and ever? And how much do I really want to write at this time of night? I need sleep after this week. And this weekend. And to top it all off, I have an 8:15 class tomorrow morning.

[Interjection]Boys make life complicated. Are they really worth it?[/Interjection]

Okay, let me start by explaining the placentas. I think I owe everyone at least that much. Everything else will come tomorrow.

Someone told Val (the SM for this show) that doing a show is like having a baby. First, there's the rehearsal process, which is like the pregnancy. It's tiring, draining, long, and it gets more and more complicated the more it goes along. Tech week and dress rehearsals are labor. They're the messiest, most difficult, most frustrating part. All of the pieces are coming together, there are too many long days in a row, and it's just painful. Tech week is never a fun time. Then, the baby is born. Opening night, labor is over, and you're admiring the newborn. It's time to enjoy the fruits of your labor (pun most definitely intended). However, there's still some work to be done. You can't quite just sit back and relax (especially if you're crew. It's a little different as the director, but the crew works hard during the run). So, we decided that the shows are like the placentas. There's some work to be done still, but the biggest job has been done already. This is just gravy. This is finishing the deal.

Hence, we delivered quints and had five placentas to push out. However, there were four of us (Val, Jen, Janna, and I), so we each only had to deliver one and a quarter.

I hope that answered your question, Linds. Not a pretty image, I know, but that's the reality of it.

One year ago today: I'm ready to live again. I want to be alive, more than just waking up and breathing my way through the day. I'm ready for life to be just that: life. For it to be more than just something to get through the day. It's time to move on. It's time, I think.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:45 p.m.