about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, Jun. 27
... Timeless
Well. It's Friday. Heh. Shows how out of it I am.

1. How are you planning to spend the summer [winter]? Well, I've spent the first two months of my "summer vacation" doing not much. Actually, I guess that the first few weeks after finals were in a spring class, or involved with Singles, but after that, it's been six weeks of odd jobs, being occasionally bored, and getting ready for the rest of the summer. And now, Laurel and I are leaving on Sunday to do VBS's for 8 weeks, in different towns all around southern Alberta.

2. What was your first summer job? Besides babysitting, I worked at Calaway Park (an amusement park in Calgary) for a summer when I was 16.

3. If you could go anywhere this summer [winter], where would you go? Hmmm... Back to NYC, maybe. Or to Pentwater, and stay at Pineric (my Grandma's B&B).

4. What was your worst vacation ever? I don't think I've got a "worst" one. There were some where I was stuck in the car with my brother and sister for way longer than I wanted to be; there were some where I wanted to be at home with my friends, but overall, I haven't really had anything horrific.

5. What was your best vacation ever? Last summer, although it wasn't really a "vacation." I got to go to all kinds of places that I'd never been before; I was with friends; I wasn't just "travelling," but I was doing something worthwhile, too; because it was a missions trip, it was mostly paid for; and it was just a really cool time all around.

Hmm. I'm looking through Pentwater's official town website... it makes me really want to go back. It's such a beauiful town, and I haven't been out there in 7 years. That's a long time.

It's such a cool place, though... my mom grew up spending her summers there, and once she and her siblings were grown, my grandma and grandpa turned their summer house into a Bed and Breakfast, and my grandma still goes out there every year to spend the summer in Pentwater and run the B&B.

It's one of those places that you picture when you think of the quintessential all-American small town. Seriously. Band concerts on the town green during the summer, right on the shore of the lake, little ice cream shops, little churches, everyone knows everyone (and half of them know me, because they've known my mom since she was young, even though I have no clue who they are)... it's just a cute place. Really fun.
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:22 a.m.