about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, Jul. 30
... If only for tonight
My gosh. I can't believe it's the end of July. Time just seems to fly faster every year.

I went out for coffee with Kat and Jakob today... I can't believe how far things have come in the past few years. I mean, there's just something about watching her with her baby that seems too surreal.

When we were in London, we met up with Bob and Jean, some friends of the family. They knew my parents way back when, and they had the kind of relationship with my parents as I have with Kat, particularly after I was born.

It's strange to think of.

Of course, it took Bob and Jean another 15 years to have kids after I was born. Let's just hope I don't maintain those similarities!

I'm back on the NaNo boards. There's not as much activity over there this time of year, but I'm doing my bit to add to it, and hopefullyl I'll stay this much of a geek until November, when I can justifiably be on there day after day. I'm doing pretty well at making up for lost time, though.

One year ago today: The first novel that Madeleine L'Engle wrote was The Small Rain, which she wrote when she was in the 20's. The sequel, A Severed Wasp, was written at least 40 years later, and it's set at least 40 or 50 years after the first one. It uses flashbacks and so on to fill in what happened between the books, and the main character is in her 70's. She said that she couldn't have written the sequel until she had lived enough life to know what she was writing about... I don't even know if she ever intended to write a sequel. But she did. And the way it's written is really something special.
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:45 p.m.