about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sat, Aug. 31
... How Blessed?
There are 17 cans of frozen juice in our freezer right now. There are 2 of us who live in this house. You do the math.

One of the sportscasters on CTV news in Calgary, Heath Brown, taught me to whistle when I was about 5 years old. That's my brush with the famous. I've known his family forever, it seems... as long as I can remember, anyways. :o) It's always fun to see him on the news, though, and say, "I know him!"

I'm sitting at my computer in just a big old t-shirt right now, because I'm doing laundry, and everything else worth wearing is in it.

It's funny how much you come to rely on something that's been a part of your live for so long that you can't imagine living without it. I have friends that I've known since I was a baby. People who have been a part of my life forever, and I just can't imagine what my life would be like without them around. Even if we don't talk as much anymore, there are still always memories and shared stories that we have.

They knew what I did at Nadine's fifth birthday party. They remember my crushes and fashion faux pas in late elementary and junior high. They saw me grow through high school. They remember my wedding to Nathan when we were four. They were there. They've watched me grow up, I've watched them grow up, and that's a precious gift, one that I take for granted.

I guess I just assume that everyone has at least one or two lifelong friends who have been there as long as they can remember... that's not the case, though. I've been blessed not to move every couple of years. I've been blessed to stay grounded, at a church where people have known me longer than I've known them. Older people who have prayed me through the tough times. Friends my own age who have been constants, even through the turmoil of junior high and petty squabbles at school.

Yah, I've been blessed. More than I take the time to realize, sometimes.
infinite || abyss

posted at 6:53 p.m.