about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, May 30
... Hold me like you'll never let me go
*sings* It's a small world after all, it's a small world after all... [ad nauseum]

Last time I was here (with Testament), we spent a couple of days at each end of our time in the UK at a place called Oak Hall. Oak Hall was this huge manor that a Christian organization bought a number of years ago, and now runs as a retreat center, and they run worldwide tours out of there. They also rent out rooms for retreats and such, and we spent a couple of days there--it was absolutely gorgeous. I mean, the place looked like stepping onto the set of Ever After.

Anyways. Friday evening, I was driving with Jo, and she asked where I had stayed when I was here before. It turns out that their boys (Ben and Sam) attend a church that's affiliated with Oak Hall, and Sam has done some travelling with them, working as a cook for one of their expeditions!

How random is that?! Seriously... it's the weirdest thing ever! Cool, but really unexpected.

Anyways, we leave here tomorrow--they've been so gracious to us, and it's been great staying here. I really like the whole family.

A couple more days in London, and we go to a family friend's house on Tuesday, and from there, we'll do a couple of day trips to different places, and probably have one more day in London on Saturday, before we leave for Austria on Sunday morning.

We saw "Mamma Mia" on Saturday, and we'll probably go see a show tomorrow, and one on Tuesday, and potentially one more next weekend... I know we're seeing a lot right now, but this is really the best opportunity--we likely won't be able to see any (or many) in other cities; and besides, this is like the European Broadway! We need to take advantage of it! I need to take advantage of it... Esther's just kind of tagging along. She likes it, but she's definitely not as passionate about it as I am. But whatever! She's not complaining, so I'll take that as assent. :o)

Anyways... it's late here, and we've got another big day tomorrow. I'm going to sleep.

One year ago today: I love the fact that it's 10:00 and still just "dusk" out. I love the hot weather, and would love to live somewhere warmer, but the thing about being further south is that there's not as much variation in the length of days. Yeah, winter can be brutal, and winter days are short, but I love this time of year, when it's so light for so long.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:45 p.m.