about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Tues, Dec 4
... A picture is worth...
I'm an incredibly reminiscent person. :o) I love to look back at things and remember... I have boxes full of little momentos, journals, and letters; albums full of pictures; and a memory that connects things like crazy. I'm very much a person who connects memories with places, smells, sounds... I'll go past a store, or a road, or a room, or anything like that and all of a sudden, there will be floods of memories, and I can replay myself in that same place and what happened there... I'll replay the conversation in my head, see us talking, playing, whatever we were doing.

I'll hear a song, and a "slide show" of pictures will go through my head; flashes of images of whatever that song brings up.

I think that's why I like doing quotes so much--they're yet another way of preserving my memories. Something kind of unusual that just adds to everything else that I already have.

Do I live in the past too much? Some would say so; I don't think so. I love to reminisce, but my favorite is making new memories, and realizing as I'm doing them that these are the things that one day, I'll look back on with the same kind of smile that I look back on everything else with. The kind of smile that looks slightly sad, slightly melancholic, but mostly grateful. Grateful for those memories and the people I made them with, and grateful that I'm not there anymore; that I've grown up a little bit more and that's not the way I'm living right now.
infinite || abyss

posted at 2:52 p.m.