about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, Apr. 18
... Thorns thy only crown
I can't believe it's already been a year since I found out about Testament. It doesn't feel like it's been all that long since we went, but yeah, it's been an entire school year.

That's the other weird thing. Classes are over. It doesn't feel like it should be... maybe because I'm taking a spring class and I still have exams, so I'll still be at the school for another 3 weeks? Maybe because, last year, I was at the school every day for a month and a half after classes were over, rehearsing for Testament? I don't know, but this year has gone by so quickly. These three years have gone by so quickly.

I've been in psycho cleaning mode today... I know I need to study for the written part of my Voice exam and work on the oral stuff, but I've been procrastinating by cleaning. As long as I'm getting something done, it's all good. And the living room and kitchen look great. And, there's bread baking right now.

I need a vacuum cleaner, though. It's pretty nasty when we can only vacuum once every few weeks, when we can borrow someone's vacuum. Other than that, though, the house stays pretty clean most of the time.

Anyways. I don't know if it's because I'm so deeply rooted in my traditions, or what, but again, like last year, this doesn't really seem like Easter weekend. I think it's just because I've been so used to Easter being such a big deal, drama-wise, and when that's not there, it feels like part of the season is missing.

I find it so interesting how people have such different understandings of Christianity and such different knowledge of the traditions and truths behind it. I guess that I always assume that everyone knows as much as I do, but I've grown up in the church, and there are a lot of people who haven't. Even people at Bible college... I assume that everyone has the same understanding and has known that their whole lives, but that's not always the case.

The other day, some of us were talking about Passover, and about the traditions that surround Easter. The stories are ones that I've always taken for granted, and I guess I've always assumed that Christians know the stories. It's interesting how our backgrounds shape our understanding of everything I'm used to taking for granted.

One year ago today: Maybe God knew that I wouldn't fully appreciate the trip until now. Maybe he knew I had to have it taken away, had to be forced to stay with the semester anyways, had to go through 3 months of utter crap, and had to get to the point where I was so desperate that I was begging him to let me go away for a while. Then he said okay. But not until I'd already thought it was hopeless. Not until he could surprise me with it.
infinite || abyss

posted at 4:20 p.m.