about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, Feb. 6
... So much that time cannot erase
Maybe I should archive my January entries, hey? Heh. I was looking at my Feb 2003 archive, and all my entry titles are lines from Joe songs. Wow. What a headspace that was. Depending on who you're talking to, it's still almost a dirty word. Joseph, that is.

We're leaving in 2-ish hours! Well, probably 2 1/2. Yay! Exciting times.

I started job #3 today. Accompanying one of the voice teachers. I got a stack of music on Wednesday, and had the chance to play through it all once. I'm a fairly strong sight reader, but I'll feel so much more confident once I've had the chance to sit down and work it out a bit. Once I've had the chance to practice. I want a metronome. Heh. I hated it when I was taking piano, but now that I'm not, I want one.

And Logan just told me that he has one at his mom's, so he'll bring it back this weekend and I can use it.

Anyways, it's been interesting. Some of the stuff is shakier than others; and Darcie kept giving me new stuff to just sight read. Most of it's at about a grade 6 level, so it's not too difficult to sight read, but still... it's nowhere near a good level.

I can tell that it's been a while since I played for an extended period of time. The one spot in my back is starting to act up again, just a little. It's not bad right now, but right before Christmas, it was brutal. Like someone was stabbing me near my right shoulder blade. It's gone away for a while (since I haven't been writing as many papers), but I can feel it now. Not the pain, but I can feel the spot, and I need to be watching it.

But on the plus side, one of the songs I'm playing is "My Immortal," so I now have the music for it.

Anyways, I have about 20 min before I need to start again, so I should get myself composed (hee, music joke) and get ready for that. Thank goodness Logan can run some errands for me while I'm here. That means we'll be able to leave as soon as I'm finished, instead of having to go home and pick up the stuff I forgot to bring with me this morning.

One year ago today: I guess we had to find the normalcy in such an intense situation, and our relationships with each other were the one constant. No matter where we were, or how many miles from home we were, the one constant was that there were six of us, and no matter how much we got on each other's nerves, or how much we wanted to get away, we had to make the best of it.
infinite || abyss

posted at 3:12 p.m.