about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, Mar. 2
... I know the answers lie far from this world
Well, it's not quite as late as it was last week, but here it goes. It's a good one this week, too. :o)

1. What is your favorite type of literature to read (magazine, newspaper, novels, nonfiction, poetry, etc.)? Usually novels. I love a good, deep, rich novel, usually by an author who writes more than just fiction. I find that their work is... fuller, I guess, than many authors who just write fiction. Other than novels, though, I love a good theological book, that deals with a difficult issue... some classic (is it any surprise that my two favorite novelists are theologians and philosophers as well?), or something new. Either one; it doesn't matter.

2. What is your favorite novel? Oh, goodness. Just one? I think than anything by C.S. Lewis or Madeleine L'Engle. They're my two favorite authors, and many of their books have deeply touched me. The Chronicles of Narnia and the Out of the Silent Planet trilogy by C.S. Lewis; A Ring of Endless Light, the "Time" quartet, and most of Madeleine L'Engle's other novels... I can't pick just one of them.

3. Do you have a favorite poem? (Share it!) There's a poem that haunts me... I found it about 2 years ago, and have loved it ever since. I can't find it now, though. I don't remember who wrote it, and the only line I remember off the top of my head is the last one: "I only know that I must see you again." I've been searching for it for the past hour, and I can't find it. One of these days, though...

4. What is one thing you've always wanted to read, or wish you had more time to read? More "classic" literature. That's been one of my goals in the past year--to read more of the books that are listed on the "Top 100 Books of the Twentieth Century" list. I don't know whose list, but they're pretty much the same, anyways.

5. What are you currently reading? Right now, it's Trailing Clouds of Glory: Spiritual Values in Children's Books, by Madeleine L'Engle. It's inspiring me to read--or re-read--many children's classics from the past 40 years or so.


infinite || abyss
posted at 12:41 a.m.