about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, May 16
... One song before I go
Hmm. Not much to say. I've got a cold. My body is the weirdest ever. Most people get better when they take a few days to relax and stave off some sort of illness. Mine goes the other way. I'm not sick as long as I'm running myself ragged, but as soon as I stop for a day or two and take a breather, I get sick. Ah well... it's just a stuffy nose. And a nagging little cough. As long as it's gone by next Thursday, I'll be fine.

Next Thursday. Crap, that's soon. I hadn't realized that it was coming up quite so quickly.

I've still got that slightly giddy post-theatre rush from Rent. It's a different kind of rush than I get when I'm onstage or backstage. Yeah, it's weird being in the audience, but I do love it.

I dunno. There's something about it that reminds me of why I do what I do. Reminds me that I want the audiences at my shows to walk away with the same feelings that I walk away from someone else's show with. No matter how much I know about what it looks like backstage, the magic still works.

And when I see a musical like that, I know why Logan is so passionate about musical theatre, and it makes me wish that I had the training to pursue it more than I do. It's a unique art form. Not superior, by any means--living on a diet of musicals alone would be boring and eventually uninspiring--but definitely unique.

I guess it's an okay thing that I don't specialize in one genre of theatre, or even one role within the spectrum of the theatre. It keeps my life interesting, and keeps me pushing for more. It makes me want to train so that I could do a musical if I wanted to; it makes me want the skills to direct whatever genre I want to; it makes me want to keep my acting skills sharp, so that I can audition for a variety of parts; it makes me want to understand tech, so that I can be of some use backstage, when I'm not doing anything else in a show.

I was just disappointed that they didn't have a merchandise table. They lost out on my soundtrack-buying money. Tsk tsk.
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:54 p.m.