about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, June 15
... And you'll hear a tale
Well, it's been an eventful couple of days... the interview yesterday morning went very well.

So well, in fact, that I'm actually going to New York at the end of August or beginning of September, until the end of June next year.

Yeah. It's exciting, terrifying, thrilling, full of possibilities, kind of scary, and all around a huge adventure. It's going to be a fantastic year, I think.

Of course, as soon as I got off the phone, my mental to-do list was 8 miles long. I have yet to write it out, but have no fear--it will be written out soon.

Anyways, here is (at this point) the plan. I'll be working as an au pair for a 5-year-old boy named Lorenzo, mostly taking care of him before and after school. My weekdays will be free, so I've got a few ideas of how to fill my time. First, I'm hoping to get a part-time (about 10 hours a week) job, just to be able to have a little more spending/saving cash. Second, I want to take some classes--hopefully some acting classes, just to keep working on my skills. Third, I'll keep working on my business plan and coaching with Tracey, doing a lot of research and work online. Plus, of course, just enjoying New York. Living there, seeing shows, exploring the city, getting connected with a church... things like that.

How those things work out in the actual proportions (of my time and energy) may vary, but those are the ideas that I've got, at least at this point.

Anyways. People have been excited when I've told them. Jen can't wait to be in the same time zone as I am, and is planning to come for a visit at some point in the year. I'm sad that Kat and I will be three time zones apart, but she's also hoping to come at some point. I want to go to Chicago sometime during the year--possibly for Christmas, but we'll see. It's a lot closer and cheaper from New York to Chicago than from Calgary to Chicago, and I need to see my family there.

This is probably the only time in my life that I can do this. I don't have school, family, or a career holding me here. Once I get my company up and running, I'll have to be here, but this year, I can still be working on the business plan and foundation from anywhere.

Like I said, it's fantastic, terrifying, and thrilling, all at once, and it really hasn't sunk in yet. I don't think it will until... well, until it's time to come back.

"What? You mean I've just spent a year living in New York?!"

Heh. But in the meantime, it's going to happen, and it's going to be pretty exciting.
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:08 p.m.