about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Mon, May 28
... Riding the 76
While I was riding the 76 to work this afternoon, it stopped at a junior high, and all of a sudden the bus was filled with mid-pubescent 14-year-olds, all thinking, as I most certainly did at that age, that they are all grown up, and completely "the stuff." Girls with boobs hardly big enough to fill out an A-cup sat around me and talked about boys dressed in the most stylin' clothes...

These kids are even younger than my little sister, by this point!! Some of them are even my brother's age. Talk about making me feel old.

The two girls next to me talked about PDA's, and how disgusted they were by people who make out in malls. They also said that they couldn't see themselves kissing a guy anywhere but on the cheek, unless they'd been going out for a really long time--say, 4 years. Their words, not mine. My question is, how did they get all the way to junior high and still think that boys are that icky?!

But most of the conversations around me were centered around the opposite sex... Who liked whom, who was dating whom, who broke up with whom because he thought she was a fat cow, who's "just a friend," who they would date if given the chance... No, some things never change. Change the names, change the places, add a slight bit more maturity (but not too much), and you've got half the conversations in the student lounge at Rocky!

Sometimes, I think it would be easier just to be 14 again. Worries, sure, but the decisions weren't as life-altering, the pressure wasn't as great, the responsibility wasn't as much. But then I give my head a shake, because what am I thinking?! Did I just say I'd want to go back to junior high?!?!? Not on your life!!!
infinite || abyss

posted at 3:48 p.m.