about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Thurs, May 24
... Waterbeds, armchairs, and losing battles
Life is good. It's warm outside, I spent a lot of time yesterday walking in the sunshine, wearing shorts and a sleeveless top, hoping to at least burn, but hopefully tan, my pasty white legs. It didn't work. I wasn't outside long enough. But Saturday's the garage sale and then the BBQ, so I'll be outside almost all day. I hope it's sunny.

The garage sale. How many memories do I have of garage sales? Since I'm tired and have nothing better to talk about right now, I'm going to go through some of my memories. :o)

'97... Courtney, Becky, and Colleen selling hard hats, modelling swimsuits and other such wonderful fashion finds, the massive armchair which I GOT!!!, Courtney's burn, destroying furniture, working cafe afterwards...

'98... The infamous marker war and going to church that night and the next morning with black permanent marker all over my body, the couch that we claimed, 5:30 in the morning, no one else being there on time, working on French in the kitchen...

'99... Picking up stuff with Norm and Kathy, watching Norm tie flies, writing on the window, the "boy talk" with Kathy and Norm--all the day before, the free waterbed, people ditching out of the sale because they had to "work," driving the car around the parking lot with Kristen, the horn on my truck...

2000... No garage sale--the year I was moving out and needed all the stuff that I could have gotten from it!

2001... Garage sale still to come

Now wasn't that interesting? Gah, I can't believe I just wrote that. So much for an enlightening, inspirational, deep, thought-provoking diary! Oh well. Next time, things will be better. For now, deal with it! :o) And go have fun at a garage sale!
infinite || abyss

posted at 1:36 p.m.