about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, June 6
... Inspired by Quoted
The "Quoted" entry today was all about love, and there were, I must say, some quite profound thoughts. So, I am going to talk about love for a little while (and quote "Quoted"!), to give my mind a break from filling out daycamp emergency information cards for 85 kids. :o)

Do we get to choose who we fall in love with? Sometimes, I'm inclined to say yes, sometimes no. More often than not, no. The people I love aren't necessarily the ones I would have chosen to love--and that's true regardless of whether it's romantic love or not. But as for romantic love... I don't think we get to choose. I mean, I don't think that God wants us to love someone who's completely wrong for us--He knows his creation better than that--but I also don't think he nudges us to love the people we think we're so perfect with.

Is there "one person" out there for everyone; one "perfect match"? I'm not sure anymore. I think so; I think that when God made each person, he made them to fit with someone else perfectly, but what happens if and when we screw that up, as we humans are wont to do? Does that then incur God's wrath for the rest of our lives, while we live out a marriage with someone who wasn't God's "first choice" for us? And what about people who are widowed, or divorced, and then love again? Where does that leave them? Were they wrong in the first place, or were there two loves for them out there? Is falling in love just one of those things where God wants us to be happy, and if we're following Him and doing what he wants, he doesn't really care who we find, as long as He's still first in life? I don't know.

"You can't be afraid to fall in love, even if you know you're going to get hurt. Love isn't something you can do by halves or quarters. It's all or nothing.... Falling in love is always worth it. The experience is always different. You can even fall in love twice with the same person and it won't be the same experience."

Hurt? Yes. Love hurts, but that's what makes it worth fighting for. If it didn't hurt, if it was just handed to us on a silver platter, we wouldn't rejoice or care when it works out and the growth is far greater than the pain. Anything worth fighting for has a cost. Regardless of how it turns out, though, or how it's intended to be, enjoy the ride. But be careful. That's someone's heart you're holding.

Anyways, my little love rant must come to an end for the moment, as Ellen needs to use the computer, so I have to move my little operation to the other desk. More to come....
infinite || abyss

posted at 4:36 p.m.