about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, Feb. 9
... Many waters
Wow. What a day. I had a big long entry all ready to go about how little theatre ministry is respected, but it's been 4 hours since rehearsal ended, and I've since calmed down a little bit.

Actually, I think the fact that rehearsal went exceptionally well (for the most part) kind of calmed me down, too. But it was quite the morning. I was ready to have Laura punch out and break the noses of just about everyone who looked at me funny. She offered. I didn't recruit her. Although that would have been entertaining, too. I'd love to see her go after everyone. Hee. I would have paid money to see that. Well... maybe a dollar. That's the going rate for breaking kneecaps, isn't it? This was just breaking noses, but I would assume it's about the same.

But yeah. It was quite the morning. I worked at 7, and spent most of the morning running around trying to solve booking issues that weren't my fault. My problem is that I try to make everyone happy. I see the problem, see what I "should" do, and then try to figure out what I'm going to do based on what will appease everyone. Not necessarily a bad strategy--putting myself in their shoes--but it does make for bad business.

But then I got home and found a box... actually, I got home and found a message from my old landlord, saying that there was a package for me that had come to my old address. So, I went to pick it up, and it was a present from April as part of the Secret Santa thing. That's such a great idea... I need to send something out--unfortunately, my credit card is out of commission at the moment, so I can't. As soon as I can, though, I'll send something and keep it going to someone else. That's the cool thing about it--it's a "what you can, when you can, out of the goodness of your heart" kind of deal. Pretty cool.

And then, just to make my day, Laurel, Chels, and I watched Sweet Home Alabama. I love that movie. It's just... cute. And fun. And oh so close to home. Maybe I like it so much because it's more of a realistic fairy tale--or it could be realistic--than most of the other romantic comedies out there. Aspects of it, that is. But I'm just a sucker for a cute movie anyways. Sometimes, I just want to watch and not analyze. There are good "real" movies that I want to analyze sometimes; other times, I just don't want to.

Anyways, I have reading to do, and my back is complaining that I've been sitting here for far too long. I should go get a heat pad of some sort for it.

One year ago today: That is theatre, you collection of displaced and awkward souls. That is the theatre; the place where audiences become flush with embarrassment, where silly laughs escape from mouths anonymous in the darkness, wehre gasps of outrage fill the air in those moments where the inappropriate dares to be appropriate. And if the audience of gawking hungry humanity were to actually see itself in that mirror dimly, they would see faces reflecting the light that emanates from the story that is the most intimate of expressions, artist to artist living in the vulnerability of moments that become more than the sum of their parts, because tehy are naked and open offerings to one another, and to the God that created the light that suspends them visible in a moment of time.
infinite || abyss

posted at 8:05 p.m.