about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sat, Feb. 8
... Make it something beautiful
I sat alone. Again. Still waiting for a change; still waiting for something different to jump out of a wall, make a funny face, and say, "Here I am! You can stop waiting now!" But the walls were just walls, and as hard as my brain tried to convince me that I saw a nose beginning to poke out, nothing happened. "Something different" wasn't going to jump out at me. I sane a little deeper in my chair and tried to get comfortable. I was in it for the long haul.

No matter who I sought or where I searched, loneliness followed me: an invisible ghost I tried to forget about, but who always managed to show up and ruin the party. I tried to ignore the litle pest, but he kept tapping me, first on one shoulder, then the other. I tried acknowledging him, but that just made him more cocky and vocal. He was just a little guy, but his presence devastated me.

I knew that once I found someone to take his place, he would disappear, but for now, he was my most constant companion. He wasn't the one I was waiting for, though.

I kept stealing furtive glances at the walls, hoping to see a hand or a grin, nearly camouflaged against the wallpaper, but ready to pop out. Still nothing, though. It was on the sixth cup of coffee that I realized I'd been stood up. Again.

Of course I had friends--good friends--I could go out with. I wasn't doomed to a life of complete solitude. Somehow, though, they just made my little friend shout all that much louder. Oh, most of the time it wasn't when we were out, but once we got home, he wouldn't shut up.

Everywhere we went, I looked at the walls, hoping desperately that I'd see that grin and know. Instantaneously know that soon, my "something different" would jump out of the walls and beat the crap out of my little buddy.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:31 p.m.