about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, June 1
... Innocent and tenderly true
I've had some interesting thoughts regarding submission lately. Some lessons learned in the past few days.

I think that God is using so many of my situations to teach me enough that by the time I actually find someone and get married, I'll be some sort of expert. I mean, I look at all these experiences, and say, "I'm learning something from this. God is teaching me something, and preparing me to be the wife and mother he wants me to be."

True. Very true. And I will walk into marriage with a much more mature mindset than I would have at 19. There's no doubt about that whatsoever.

I can't help but wonder, though, when all of this will become something other than "lessons for later." When will the experiences become first-hand, so that I can make the mistakes and rejoice in the triumphs? I can only learn so many lessons beforehand, before it's time to step out of the classroom and into the rest of it.

Still. It's been a good week. Despite everything--and despite everything that may still come and be revealed in the next week or two--it has been a good few days. You know? Little things. Driving in the rain. Finally hitting Market Mall with Lindsey. Finding things I wanted to get on sale. Sleeping in yesterday. Sitting in the sun.

I bought the Il Divo cd, and it's like listening to four Josh Grobans at once. And I thought that one made me swoon. *sigh* I love a man that can sing.

My thoughts are so random today. Work has been interesting, and I've been accumulating some of these life lessons that I've been talking about. God has definitely kept me there for a reason. Many reasons. Some of which I can see now; others are still not completely clear. Who would have thought that "Mmmm... Toasty" could be the neon flashing sign from God? Okay, maybe not that exactly, but Quiznos has definitely been my place for a reason, and for a season. I could have moved on a long time ago, but the timing would have been anything but right.

Crossroads are coming. Life is, for many people, coming to turning points, and it'll be interesting to see which roads separate, which ones converge, which ones go through sunny meadows, which ones dive into valleys.

One year ago today: I'm realizing that this is not the kind of trip you're supposed to take with your little sister. Ideally, it should be with a boyfriend/fiance/husband. Next, with a great friend, or a group of friends. Then, family.
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:09 p.m.