about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Tues, May 31
... Beauty of simplicity
I was sitting outside yesterday, watching the kids feed the ducks, and the Beatitudes started running through my head. I started journalling on the ideas, and it has lead to some interesting thoughts.

First, an abridged version of yesterday's journal entry:

Blessed are. The Beatitudes are running throut my head. Am I meek? Pure in heart? A peacemaker? Do I hunger and thirst for righteousness?

I have this thought that all those qualities boil down, in some form, to simplicity. Is the desire for a simple life an innate, God-given longing that draws all of us as we get older?

I don't necessarily mean "simplicity" as an absence of technology, or a lack of activity, or anything like that, but... single-mindedness. Purpose. Refusing to be caught up in the drama of an attention-starved life. And those are qualities that can be found in the middle of nowhere or in the middle of Manhattan. For that matter, they can be lost as easily in the middle of nowhere as in the middle of the city.

For theirs is the kingdom of heaven. For they will see God. For they will be called children of God. For they will be comforted.

The idea of simplicity has intrigued me ever since, and so tonight, I looked in an online concordance to see where the word "simplicity" shows up. It actually isn't in the NIV (depending on your persuasion, either the "Non-Inspired Version," or else the "Nearly Infallible Version") at all, but I've found it in a few other translations, and it's kind of interesting.

A lot of times, the word "simple" is used--particularly in Proverbs--as a synonym for "fool," but "simplicity" seems to be more in line with the track I was taking with it:

"For our rejoicing is this, the testimony of our conscience, that in simplicity and godly sincerity, not with fleshly wisdom, but by the grace of God, we have had our conversation in the world, and more abundantly to you-ward." (1 Cor 1:12, KJV) PS, have I mentioned that sometimes, I love the language of the King James? I like a variety in my Biblical translation diet, but there's something about the rich, archaic language that I (surprise, surprise) love.

"For I am jealous for you with a godly jealousy; for I betrothed you to one husband, so that to Christ I might present you as a pure virgin. But I am afraid that, as the serpent deceived Eve by his craftiness, your minds will be led astray from the simplicity and purity of devotion to Christ. For if one comes and preaches another Jesus whom we have not preached, or you receive a different spirit which you have not received, or a different gospel which you have not accepted, you bear this beautifully." (2 Cor 11:2-4, NASB)

"A devout life does bring wealth, but it's the rich simplicity of being yourself before God." (1 Tim 6:6, MSG)

Somehow, even though the Beatitudes never use the word "simplicity," somehow that seems to be to be such an all-encompassing word for the faith lifestyle laid out in that passage.

I love some of the phrases that I found, though.

The rich simplicity of being yourself before God.

Simplicity and purity of devotion to Christ.

It just reinforces that faith--a godly life--isn't easy, but it is simple. There's something very un-complicated about it, but we try to make it fancier than it is. We frou-frou it up with big words, big theologies, and trying to understand what God is all about. All good things--I loved the theology that I've studied, and learning those things has helped me to understand God better--but that's not the core. Those are the extras of the life God intends for us to live, not the essence.

The rich simplicity of being yourself before God.

That tugs at my heartstrings. Who doesn't want to be simply "yourself." Nothing more, nothing less. Yourself. Could there be a more apt description of what's missing in our understanding of our own identities? So many people have forgotten how to be "yourself," but that's what God asks us to be. It's like the classic altar-call song: "Come just as you are... hear the Spirit's call." How long has it been since someone wanted you just the way you are? Everyone has demands, everyone has expectations, and it's easy to lose sight of the "you-ness" of you within the scope of all those other factors.

The beauty of it, though, is that as much as a life lived with God changes us... and it will. A life lived in godly simplicity, a life lived in view of the Beatitudes will never stay the same... but as much as that life is changed, it's more "you" than anything you've ever been before.

What a paradox. But it's such a good one--it's the kind of paradox that makes faith so rich and exciting to live.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:32 p.m.