about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sunday, Nov. 06, 2005
... Things we're all too young to know
Hmmm. The first 8,000 words have been written, and I'm amazed at how it's going. Amazed, and not quite sure what the end product is going to look like.

I realize that there's a lot of stuff that gets added during the editing process--I mean, I remember editing my first novel, and adding at least 10,000 words to the thing, fleshing out the characters and the plotlines so that they were real to everyone else but me. You know? They were always real to me, but they needed to be fleshed out so that someone else could fall in love with them, as much as I love them.

It's interesting, as I work through this story. It's not turning into the kind of story that has a lot of detail. I've hardly given any physical characteristics to my characters, or locations for them to be in. It's much more situation-based, more moment-based, than it is based on a specific locale.

I don't know if those things will be added in later on, when I go ahead and edit. Maybe I'll keep it vague. Maybe it needs to be vague, in order to keep the relationships forefront and paramount. Maybe it'll be too distracting, and I'll need to add the usual conventions of story. I guess we'll see, won't we?

And, since I wrote almost 4000 words today, I can't feel guilty about spending the evening watching Gilmore Girls and chilling out. Tomorrow, another 5000 words. That's the goal, anyways.
infinite || abyss

posted at 8:45 p.m.