about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, Jan. 2
... Willing to wait for the miracle
Is it really Friday? I'm still having trouble keeping track of what day it is. Sadly, it's back to the normal routine soon enough, and I'll be back to a regular Monday-to-Friday schedule.

Anyways, how was your New Year's? We just hung out at home in our pyjamas, and then yesterday, went to Banff.

I think we definitely take it for granted, living where we do--I mean, I can head out there for a day, or even half a day, and it's not a big deal. It's only an hour from my house, and I go out there at least twice a year; often more. I called my grandma last night after we got home, and told her what we did, and she commented that it was a nice treat. And yes, it was, but not as much as it would be if we lived somewhere else. Heh.

Anyways, I stole this from Lindsey, and since I'm too lazy right now to dig through the last year's worth of entries, this is a good way to do it.

1. What did you do in 2003 that you'd never done before? I was a bridesmaid in Kat and Christian's wedding; was props master for a show with over 100 props; took dance classes; and moved in with boys.

2. Did you keep your new years' resolutions, and will you make more for next year? I don't really make New Year's Resolutions; at least, not official ones. I make goals at the beginning of the school year, the semester, the new year, my birthday... whatever. So, I guess I'll just keep doing that.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth? My aunt Kari gave birth to Drew David, and I think that's it. In 2004, both Kat and Cindy will give birth...

4. Did anyone close to you die?

No one close, but a few acquaintances or friends of friends died.

5. What countries did you visit? Just the U.S., and that was just for the troupe mini-tour to Montana. More in 2004!

6. What would you like to have in 2004 that you lacked in 2003? I'd like to have a steady, full-time job; a college degree; and hopefully, a boyfriend! Heh.

7. What date from 2003 will remain etched upon your memory, and why? February 21--Kat and Christian's wedding; September 20--Lynsae and Jereme's wedding.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year? Um, I'm not sure. There doesn't seem to be anything huge that really sticks out to me.

9. What was your biggest failure? I don't know... I guess, not getting everything done the way it needed to be, when it needed to be done, in terms of school.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury? Colds, flu, an infection or two. That's it.

11. What was the best thing you bought? Oh, I had fun in the used bookstores in 2003. I don't think I made any major purchases, except maybe a VCR.

12. Whose behaviour merits celebration? Janna. I've seen a lot of changes in her in the past 4 months, and it's cool. We haven't been good friends until this year, and there's always a long way to go, but I've seen a lot of good things in her.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed? Certain members of my family and a few friends, who really disappointed me. Disappointed a lot of people, and I'm far down the list, but it still affects me.

14. Where did most of your money go? Rent, groceries, gas, bills, tuition... crazy little things like that.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about? Finding out that I'm able to graduate this year, living with the people I do...

16. What song will always remind you of 2003? Walk Away by Barlow, Freshmen, by Verve Pipe (I know... it's old, but it's all about this year), Measure of a Man, by Clay Aiken.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you: Happier or sadder? Happier, I'd say. Overall.

ii. thinner or fatter? About the same, sadly. I should be thinner by now.

iii. richer or poorer? I suppose richer, technically, since I'm working a steady job, but there are way more bills to pay, so it all balances out.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of? Rejoicing in other people's happiness, taking advantage of the moments I have with other people, just taking my

19. What do you wish you'd done less of? Complaining, looking for attention, focusing on the negative...

20. How did you spend Christmas? With my family and Logan. Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, and Boxing Day, anyways. Christmas break as a whole was mostly working.

22. Did you fall in love in 2003? No, sadly. I'm hoping for 2004, but we'll see... Whatever God has in store...

23. How many one-night stands? None.

24. What was your favorite TV program? Will & Grace

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year? No. There are a few people I'm disappointed in, but no one I hate.

26. What was the best book you read? Sacred Marriage, by Gary Thomas. It presents some really interesting ideas about marriage (duh), spirituality, happiness, blessings, and holiness. A good book, for sure.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery? Heh. Clay Aiken. Who else would it be?

28. What did you want and get? A close friendship.

30. What was your favorite film of this year? Um, I'm not sure, off the top of my head. Just for the sake of argument, I'll say Return of the King.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? I didn't do anything major. Went out for dinner with Janel, went to school, and worked, I think. Party hard for my 21st birthday, hey?

32.What's one thing that would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? I can't think of anything in particular... it was a good year, and if I was concentrating on one thing to make it better, that would be pretty pathetic.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2003? Jeans, sweaters, t-shirts. I got a little more preppy and put-together than before, but still just whatever. I'm not a huge one for putting too much stock into my looks.

34. What kept you sane? Writing, reading, friends, and road trips.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? Probably Reese Witherspoon, or (again) Clay Aiken. I have a lot of respect for both of them, and I think that they (especially Clay) have a lot of integrity, and seem like someone that I'd like to meet.

36. What political issue stirred you the most? The whole gay marriage thing.

37. Who did you miss? A bunch of people from high school; friends that I've lost touch with over the years; people that I should have been keeping touch with more than I have. And, this year more than ever, that one.

38. Who was the best new person you met? Well, it wasn't really a new person, but Logan is someone I didn't really know until this year, and I'm so glad that we've gotten as close as we have. My friendship with him has been an amazing blessing in the past 5 months or so.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2003: Life is unexpected. Things happen and friendships go in directions that you don't expect, but you just have to take it in stride, trust God, and be honest through the whole thing.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year: Surprisingly, this is the hardest one to answer. There are a lot of lyrics that are important, but I can't think of one that defined this year. Hmmm. If I think of something, I'll post it.
infinite || abyss

posted at 9:32 p.m.