about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, Feb. 2
... Ain't no sunshine when she's gone
Well, I'm home from Montana. I realized that I didn't say what I was doing in Montana. I probably had it in the entry that diaryland ate before I left. Anyways, the third year troupe went on our first mini-tour of the year. We do two more one-act festivals and one more mini-tour in March, so yeah. This was the first of those.

It was fun. Really, it was. The performances both went well, although the audiences were really small. They churches were very gracious and hospitable, though, which is always a blessing.

It's interesting... I've noticed myself in such a different mindset since I was on Testament this summer. I walk into a church as part of a ministry team, and I have a different... something... about it. It's not that I have a different motivation, or anything like that. I don't really know how to describe it, but it's almost like I expect anything, but I know what to expect better than I did before, because no matter where you go, it's always somewhat the same. I'm doing a very, very poor job describing this.

But back to the topic at hand... Laurel, Dave, and I had a great drive home. We left Missoula at around 7 this morning so that we could be back to Calgary by mid-afternoon, and the other car (Chelsea, Jordan, Janna, and Mitch) wanted to leave a little bit later, so they'll be back to Calgary by 6 or so. Anyways, the three of us had a great drive. I thought, anyways.

I sometimes wonder if those two realize how important they are to me. I think that Laurel does--at least, she's got a pretty good understanding of the situation. But sometimes I wonder if Dave knows--not just as another ministry person, but since the summer, he's one of the guys that knows the most about my life, and I respect his opinion a lot.

But yeah. It was an interesting drive home. If nothing else, there's definitely the common bond of being ministry-minded in our career goals. I think we rely on each other's moral support more than we realize sometimes.

And I finally found Chelsea's birthday present (at the mall in Missoula), after searching all over Calgary for it (and procrastinating far too long in starting to look for it). I know what I want to get Brian for his birthday--I'd better start now if I want to find it by May.

One year ago today: I heard an analogy once that talent is like a garden. God can give me the most beautiful garden in the world, but if I don't take care of it and tend it, all it'll ever be is a patch of weeds. Someone else was talking about how his dad taught him how to play guitar. Within a few years, he had completely surpassed his dad in skill, but he said that he still loved going back and showing his dad what he'd learned, or how he'd mastered some difficult skill. It wasn't so that he could show off, or say, "Look how great I am," but it was so he could say to his dad, "Look at how I've built and developed the time and the talent you invested in me," and it reassures his dad that it was a worthwhile investment.
infinite || abyss

posted at 3:20 p.m.